The Works of John Newton

The Works of John Newton

Matthew Henry



297 pages, Hendrickson , ISBN: 9781848715110

241 mm x 154 mm x 44 mm , 4 volume(s), 7527g

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

Reviews mostly by Dr Peter Masters


‘In few writers are Christian doctrine, experience and practice more happily balanced than in the author of these letters, and few write with more simplicity, piety and force.’ — C. H. SPURGEON

‘What thousands have derived repeated profit and pleasure from the perusal of these utterances of the heart! Nor ever will they cease to be found means of grace whilst God has a church on earth.’ — WILLIAM JAY


When John Newton, ex-sea captain and, as yet, unsuccessful candidate for the Church of England ministry, finished his first book (an autobiography) in 1762 there was no ready publisher. Any thought that he was destined to become one of the best known authors of his age would have been as fantastic as the last 37 years of his life. But in both cases the improbable came about. Becoming curate of Olney, a small village in the south of England, in 1764, Newton there laid his reputation as an evangelical writer, pre-eminently by his published letters and by the Olney Hymns (including ‘How Great the Name of Jesus Sounds, ‘Glorious things of Thee are spoken’ and ‘Amazing grace’). Before the end of his subsequent pastorate at St. Mary Woolnoth, London (1780-1807), his writings were prized around the world from America to Australia.



Volume 1
Publisher’s Note ix
Introduction to the 1839 edition xi
Memoirs of the Rev. John Newton xvii
An Authentic Narrative of Some Remarkable and Interesting Particulars in the Life of John Newton, in Fourteen Letters 1
Cardiphonia; or, the Utterance of the Heart, in the Course of a Real Correspondence Twenty-six Letters to a Nobleman 303
Volume 2
Cardiphonia (continued) 1
Six Discourses, (or Sermons), as Intended for the Pulpit 101
Twenty Sermons Preached in the Parish Church of Olney 174
A Review of Ecclesiastical History
book i—of the first period of Christianity 371
book ii—of the second period of Christianity 426
Olney Hymns 591
Volume 3
Messiah: Fifty Expository Discourses, on the Series of Scriptural Passages, which Form the Subject of the Celebrated Oratorio of Handel
Part I 1
Part II 145
Part III 329
Tracts 439
Sermons 539
Volume 4
Letters to a Wife 1
Letters Intended as a Sequel to Cardiphonia 273
Miscellaneous Papers Extracted from Periodical Publications 579
Index 737

Useful Links